Your Patients

Patient Profile

HealthKit aggregates a patient's general and appointment details, clinical records, social history, referrals and invoices into the one place: their patient profile. All your patient profiles are aggregated into your Patients List, where individual patient profiles can be accessed, and where you can add new patients to your Patients List.

Finding patients on your Patients List

Main article: Patients List

To access your Patients List and find a specific patient, go to the Patients tab, and click Patients List. Patients are listed along with their status, phone details and location. Click on a patient's name to access their patient profile or use the search function to find the patient that you are looking for.

Adding new patients

Add patients from - 1: the Calendar; 2: the Add New page; and 3: the Patients List

Main article: Adding New Patients

You can add a new patient in three ways:

  1. From the Calendar : make an appointment and type the new patient's name in the Patient Name field, and confirm that you want to add the patient and complete the Add New Patient form;
  2. From the Add New page: click the Patients tab and click Add Patient (previously called Add New), then complete the Add New Patient page.
  3. From the Patients List page: click the Patients tab and select Patients List; click the Add New button on the top right, and complete the Add New Patient page.

Patient Profiles

Patient profile main pages

Main article: Patient Profile

A Patient Profile contains comprehensive information about a patient, including:

  • Contact and administrative information, shown on the General page (which is also where you can invite your patients to join the patient portal);
  • Clinical notes and information: shown on the Clinical page;
  • Referral, claiming and other eligibility information, shown on the Funding page; and
  • Payments as well as appointment and invoices history, shown on the Funding and History pages.

You can also add a new appointment for the patient from their profile.

Making changes to patients' profiles

You can make changes to patients' profiles by going to each page and clicking the Edit button which is on the top right of the page. For example, if you need to update a patient's address, go to the General page, click the Edit button; make the changes required to the patient's address and click the Save button.

Merging patient profiles

Watch video showing how to merge patient profiles

If you have accidentally created two patient profiles for the same patient and included information on both profiles that you want to keep, you can merge patient profiles (if you do not want to keep a patient profile and it has no information, you can just delete the profile).

Go to the patient profiles that you want to remove and merge into another profile, and click the Edit button at the top right of the page. Click the Merge button that appears in the same place (next to the Login toggle) and select the destination patient profile into which information will be merged.

You are then shown a list of records that will be merged into the destination patient profile. Information in the destination patient profile takes priority over information in the profile to be merged as shown in the table below.

Information merged into destination patient profile
Scenario Examples
Multiple records created Appointments, invoices, referrals and claiming information
Merged only if absent in destination patient profile Address, phone numbers, email address

Click the Merge button to confirm that you want to merge the profiles. As there is no way to undo merging of patient profiles, please make sure you do want to merge the profiles before you click the Merge button.

Inviting a patient to join the HealthKit patient portal

Inviting patients to create a patient portal

You can invite a patient or their family member to join the HealthKit patient portal by clicking the Invite button on the General page of their Patient Profile. Invite the patient when they can manage their own health; invite the family member when they are responsible for the patient, such as in the case of a parent or guardian.

To invite the patient or their family member, enter and confirm their email address to which the automated invitation is sent; you can also add an additional message to the patient or family member, if you like.

When you click Submit, the patient is sent an email inviting them to join HealthKit with a unique link to the patient profile created for them. After the patient clicks the unique link, their patient portal is created, which the patient can access by clicking the link. This automatically connects their patient portal to your software. When they click on the link they are prompted to set their own password for their patient portal.

Through the patient portal, they can track their appointments and invoices, search for and save a list of their practitioners, and track their health.

You can see this in action in this mini video.

Adding family members and other contacts

Creating contacts

You can add family members to a patient’s record or anyone else with a relationship to the patient, such as emergency contacts, an employer, guardian, life partner, ward of court etc. You can create as as many contacts as you require.

Adding emergency contacts

To add a new contact, click the Add Contact button. Select the Relationship (such as a patient’s spouse or parent) and the Contact Type (such as an emergency contact, or next-of-kin). Enter the name and if there is no record yet for this person, select to add them as a new contact/ patient. Select Enabled if you would like this contact to receive appointment reminders in addition to the patient. Complete the rest of the details and save.

You can add as many contacts as required, which means you can add both parents if the patient is a minor and the parents are divorced. This way reminders can be sent to both parents.

If you choose to delete the contact from the patient's General page, this breaks the relationship however it maintains the actual record.

When you create the contact, the status defaults to “Contact”. You can change this status at any time if this person becomes a patient of yours, without affecting the relationship with the first patient.

Click on the eMail icon to invite the contact to join the Patient Portal.

Archiving and deleting a patient

Watch video showing how to archive patients

If you are not seeing a patient and/or you have discharged the patient, you can archive the patient so that they do not appear in your current patient list or in your list of patients that appears when you are making an appointment. To archive a patient, go to their profile on the Patients List, and on their General page, click the Edit button at the top right of the screen. Change their status to Archived in the status field. The patient is listed as Archived on your Patients List and their name does not appear when you make an appointment. The patient's appointments are not archived so you can still view their past appointments on your calendar, as well as any future appointments that you have booked with that patient.

Watch this video to see how to archive a patient profile.

To delete a patient, go to their profile on the Patients List, and on their General page, click the Edit button at the top right of the screen. Change their status to Deleted in the status field. The patient is removed from your Patients List and their name does not appear when you make an appointment. The patient's appointments are not deleted so you can still view their past appointments on your calendar, as well as any future appointments that you have booked with that patient (you can delete their appointments on your calendar or delete an invoice). See also Deleting a patient record.

Watch this video to see how to delete a patient profile.

Videos

I accidentally created two patient profiles for the same patient and both patient profiles have information in them - how do I merge duplicate patient profiles?

You can merge patient profiles by clicking the merge button on the obsolete patient profile and following the prompts.

How do I invite a patient to the patient portal?

From a patient's General page, click the Invite button and follow the prompts. Your patient will be sent and invitation.